The Story Behind the Hymn: “I Need Thee Every Hour”

In 1872, the hymn, “I Need Thee Every Hour,” was written by a woman named Annie Sherwood Hawks. Born in New York in 1835, Annie went on to write over 400 poem/hymn texts throughout her lifetime, regularly publishing them to multiple newspapers. Her and her husband, Charles Hawks, became members of Hanson Place Baptist Church in Brooklyn, New York, where Dr. Robert Lowry (an accomplished Gospel writer in his own right) served as head pastor and encouraged Anne’s gift of writing poetry. Of all the poems and hymns Annie wrote, “I Need Thee Every Hour” is really the only one that is still sung today and been included in official hymnal books across the Christian denominations.

At the time when “I Need Thee Every Hour” was composed, Annie Hawks was the mother of three children. In a personal reflection on the hymn, she wrote,

“I remember well the morning when in the midst of the daily cares of my home, I was so filled with the sense of the nearness of the Master, that wondering how one could live without him either in joy or pain, these words ‘I Need Thee Every Hour’ were ushered into my mind.”

Isn’t it neat how this hymn’s lyrics were inspired by a deep sense of focus, a deep and intimate appreciation for life in the day-to-day activities? “I Need Thee Every Hour” is a magnificent reminder that when our life is going well, even when we find the rhythm of our life, we still need Jesus.

Two Bible verses pair with this hymn. First is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 which says, “Rejoice always! Pray constantly. Give thanks in everything, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” In other words, celebrate often; pray about everything; remember your need for Jesus every hour; and always express gratitude. This is God’s will for all of us in Christ Jesus.

The second Bible verse is said to have appeared just below the title when the hymn was first published, John 15:5, “I am the vine; you are the branches. The one who remains in me and I in him produces much fruit, because you can do nothing without me.”

“I need Thee every hour, most gracious Lord;
No tender voice like Thine can peace afford.
I need Thee, O I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee!
O bless me now, my Savior, I come to Thee.
I need Thee every hour;
Stay Thou near by.
Temptations lose their power when Thou art nigh.
I need Thee, O I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee!
O bless me now, my Savior, I come to Thee.
I come to Thee.
I need Thee every hour, in joy or pain;
Come quickly and abide, or life is vain.
I need Thee, O I need Thee;
Every hour I need Thee!
O bless me now, my Savior, I come to Thee.
I need Thee, O I need Thee;
I come to Thee.”

Listen to “I Need Thee Every Hour” by Sam Robson.

Leave a comment